Airlie Beach

About Us

The Whitsundays




The Whitsundays are part of the Cumberland Group, which forms the largest group of Coastal Islands on the Australian Coast. In total there are 74 islands located right in the centre of the Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef Marine Park.

The Whitsunday group consists of 22 islands, that were named by Captain Cook on his voyage on the Endeavour in 1770. The Islands became islands around 10,000 years ago when the Ice Caps melted and the sea level rose around 100 metres. The islands are in fact mountain tops.

Today the islands remain relatively unspoilt, with only six of the islands having resort style development. The island resorts include Daydream, Hayman, Hamilton, South Molle, Long & Hook.

The Whitsundays provide terrific sailing conditions, with consistent South Easterly breezes and many calm water anchorages nestled among the islands, making overnight stopovers exceptionally comfortable.  Each August, many famous yachts make their way to the Whitsunday's to race in the Hamilton Island Race Week and Hoggs Breath Regatta.

WHALES VISIT - Humpback Whales visit the Whitsundays from July to Sept each year. During their stay calves are born.   Prosail Whitsunday

Other marine life that we regularly see throughout the year include: Turtles, Dugong, Dolphins, Mantaray, Maori Wrasse and hundreds of different Reef Fish.

Plus we will see Bird Life such as Kites and Sea Eagles.

We work in a partnership with the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority and Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service to ensure that our Tours minimise ecological risk while sustaining the future of the Great Barrier Reef and the Whitsunday Islands, so for years to come, visitors may appreciate the natural beauty of the area. 

Powered & created by: Fat Galah Designs   [Login]